Major Hooples

Major Hooples

The Hooples Album

MAJOR HOOPLES BOARDING HOUSE is the legendary club band from southern Ontario that toured for over 20 years from the late 60s to the 80s with original members, Rocky Howell (lead vocal), Gail Selkirk (keyboards & vocals), Rick Riddell (drums), David Lodge (bass & vocals) and Peter Padalino (guitar & vocals). They are still touring today with Rocky, Gail and Peter. The group name derives from the famous syndicated newspaper comic strip ‘Our Boarding House’ (1936-1984) depicting Amos B. Hoople & his wife, Martha and used by permission of the creator Gene Ahern.

After recording with several producers without success; in 1975, bass player David Lodge brought a song he wrote to producer Greg Hambleton, who immediately signed the band. Their first Axe Records single “I’m Running After You” was recorded with Rocky, David and band members Keith Stahlbaum, Dave Gooding, Peter (Moss) Beacock and Ed Miller.

It became an instant hit on Axe and was released several months later in the States on Larry Uttal’s Private Stock label. This was followed by “You Girl” and “I’ve Got You On My Mind”. After a few years off the road, the original band members re-united and recorded “Someone” (1980), “Loving You”, “Easy For Me” and several more songs to complete The Hooples Album. Through all the changes, there is no mistaking Hooples unique vocal blend featuring Rocky Howell’s distinctive lead vocals.

Drums: Ed Miller & Rick Riddell
Bass, vocals & sax : David Lodge
Bass: Keith Stahlbaum
Lead Vocals & accoustic guitars: Richard (Rocky) Howell
Lead Guitar & Vocals: Peter Padalino
Keyboards & vocals: Peter (Moss) Beacock & Gail Selkirk
Horns: Dave Gooding & David Gregg

Production: Greg Hambleton
Engineers: Terry Brown, Steve Morris & Jim Frank

Cover Design & illustration: Michael Baldwin
All songs published by AXE MUSIC

Read their story: Major Hoople’s – The Secret To Their Long-Time Success
CD details & more info: The Hooples Album
“I’ve Got You On My Mind” is available only on the CD version

ⓟ & © 2013 Greg Hambleton
Axe Records DL-A535